My collection of Black Keys CDs, DVDs, Singles, EPs and LPs

October 24, 2012

Brothers (US)

Format:   CD, Digipak


   May 18, 2010

Region:   US

Catalog Number:   520266-2

   See below

   Poster with lyrics.

Track Listing:
01. Everlasting Light
02. Next Girl
03. Tighten Up
04. Howlin' For You
05. She's Long Gone
06. Black Mud
07. The Only One
08. Too Afraid To Love You
09. Ten Cent Pistol
10. Sinister Kid
11. The Go Getter
12. I'm Not The One
13. Unknown Brother
14. Never Gonna Give You Up
15. These Days

Brothers is the sixth album, and Grammy Award-winner of Best Alternative Music Album, by The Black Keys. It was recorded at Muscle Shoals Sound Studio in Sheffield, Alabama, The Bunker On Apple in Portland, Oregon, Easy Eye Sound System and Soil of the South Studios in San Diego, California in 2009. The album debuted at #3 on the Billboard 200, and in January 2011, the album was certified Gold by the RIAA for shipping over 500,000 copies. 

The packaging is designed to resemble a vintage record jacket, with the old Nonesuch logo on the front cover in the lower left, and the words "STEREO SOUND" in the upper right. The album is littered with messages that identify everything. The cover, for example reads: "This is an album by The Black Keys. The name of this album is Brothers". The font used is Cooper Black. When first opened, the label on the disc is almost entirely black. However, the label is heat-sensitive and turns a "whitish" color when played in a disc player for a long enough time. The label can also be revealed by touching the disc.